Day 125; Primitive Planters {Turning Junk into beautiful treasure}

Day 125 of 365; Primitive Planters {Turning Junk into beautiful treasure}

If you’ve never been thrilled to the very edges of your soul by a flower in spring bloom, maybe your soul has never been in bloom. ~Terri Guillemets

I was so happy yesterday to finally have a warm, sunny day to plant flowers! I had been awaiting this day for a LONG long time {with the delay of Spring in Wisconsin & all…}

I wanted to share some of my projects that I worked on. I turned several antique & old pieces into new flower planters..take a look below at my before & after photos…

Wagon Before....

Wagon Planter After...

Old Farm bin before...

Farm Bin Planter After...

Antique Pitcher Before..

Antique Pitcher Planter After...

Antique Minnow Bucket Before...

Antique Minnow Bucket Planter After...

Antique Bowl Before...

This Bowl planter I now have placed in the center of my picnic table in the back yard…

Antique Bowl Planter After...

With all of the items above, I first drilled 1-4 holes in the bottom of each to allow water to drain out the bottom. The only one I didn’t drill holes into was the minnow bucket, only because it is loaded with holes all along the sides near the bottom edges. Then I filled them up with Miracle Grow Soil {I have used this for 2 years, and the result compared to regular soil is amazing, ..by mid Summer all of these planters will be overflowing with blooms! I will post pics as they change}

All of these pieces were either free or under $10 a piece, and most I have had sitting around the house..doing nothing but collecting dust, so I thought I might as well put them to use and add some character to my yard and the exterior of my home!

Another thing to always keep in mind, is to always..ALWAYS include your kids! Below are photos of my sweet 2.5 year old daughter Camryn helping me plant flowers later in the afternoon….

Cam ready to plant the flower seeds she got for Easter..

I hope this has inspired you to get out and look for JUNK you can re-use and turn into something beautiful,

Leave a Reply

