Day 56; Freecycle. How to minimize & donate all in one easy step!

Day 56 of 365; Freecycle

Do you freecycle? You should!!!

^ That was my to-do list for today. I had been sick all week with the terrible norovirus, literally left me lifeless and unable to eat for 4 days, and I lost almost 10 pounds (which btw I don’t really have room to lose 10 pounds), and that left me feeling even weaker. This morning I woke up with CRAZY energy, like I had been completely renewed.

Once I start at a project, if I have no interruptions, I like to work until it’s done-and do a good job at it.

I sent my son off of the bus, my husband was already at work, my 2 year old daughter was still sleeping, ..and I went downstairs to do… laundry.

Doing laundry turned into re-arranging the basement family room/guest area, which then turned into organizing/minimizing, and eventually resulted in me donating tons of stuff, using Freecycle.

I used to hold annual garage sales, I loved them when I was growing up and my dad’s mother (my Grandma S) would come and help, she always made them so much fun. But Garage Sales are so much work, and the time it takes for me to get ready is time taken away from my kids, and in the end there is usually no profit (think about how much you really spent on EVERYTHING that you are selling and then look at your time, and what $ you come out with in the end)… I would make about $200.00 each sale. Was $200 worth all that stress and time? I didn’t think so.

So.. I started FREECYCLING!

What IS Freecycle you ask?

This is taken directly from the Freecycle website;

The Freecycle Network™ is made up of 4,922 groups with 8,172,781 members around the world. It’s a grassroots and entirely nonprofit movement of people who are giving (and getting) stuff for free in their own towns. It’s all about reuse and keeping good stuff out of landfills. Each local group is moderated by local volunteers (them’s good people). Membership is free.

I came across freecycle when I had been talking with a friend one day and decided I would try it out.

It is very simple, just visit FREECYCLE.ORG

Ok..there? Great! Now you see that little orange circled search box in the middle top of the page? Just type in the city nearest you to find a FreeCycle group near you. Can’t find your city? Try another one near you.

Once you do that you will be taken to another page where you will be able to chose the FreeCycle group that will fit you best.

Then click on the group you would like to join & it will again bring you to another page just for that county/city, and that page will then explain the rest on how to become a member.

You can set it up so you check your Freecycle group whenever you feel like it, or do what I do..and have all freecycle messeges sent directly into your email inbox (this is a very great idea if you do not want to miss getting any great items, and respond quickly)

FreeCycle is an AMAZING service, tool, and way to donate to people in your community, and also a really great and fun way to find some treasures.

I donate everything from kids clothes, my clothes, household items, old computers, old toys, even bagged leaves.

I have received everything from NEW clothes, new packages of diapers for my daughter, Books, neat and fun home decor, and so much more.

So, will you give Freecycl’ing a try? Please do!

Leave a Reply

