Day 41; If Tomorrow never came…

Day 41 of 365; If Tomorrow Never Came…

“I, not events, have the power to make me happy or unhappy today. I can choose which it shall be. Yesterday is dead, tomorrow hasn’t arrived yet. I have just one day, today, and I’m going to be happy in it.”~ Groucho Marx

We have no promises of a tomorrow, we have no contract that says we are guaranteed any tomorrow in our lives.

What if we were told today , that we would have no tomorrow?

How does that make you feel?

What would you run out and do?

Who would you go see? & What would you tell them?

Would you tell someone you love them?

Would you say you are sorry?

Would you sit and enjoy your last breaths on earth and take in the beauty all around you.

Tomorrow isn’t promised to us-but we have faith & we believe in tomorrow, we believe that God will keep us here until we fulfill and find our purpose for our life here on earth.

Yesterday I went on a Mommy/Son date with my (almost) 7 year old son, we started off washing the Jeep in the car-wash -I think it looks better muddy, but he thought it needed cleaning 🙂 The photo of the day today was taken while we were inside of the Jeep during the car-wash, and my son noticed the beautiful sunset out the car-wash window, so there we sat with water, soap and suds all over the Jeep enjoying the sunset from quite a different way.

I must say that is THE first time I have ever watched and enjoyed a sunset from inside of a car-wash bay. I am thankful for a son whose eyes are open to the beauty in this world. (Just this morning he was running out to the bus and yelled “MOM!!!!!!! LOOK AT THE SKY! IT’S PINK!” ) 🙂

We then went to dinner at Panera and warmed our fingers by the fireplace and ended that night at his favorite store -BORDERS. We finally went and bought our own copy of ‘Blueberries for Sal’ -which I blogged about yesterday! 🙂

On the way home, I had some things on my mind and was just thinking while driving, no music-Rayce had fallen asleep, and I was following behind a large semi truck hauling some wood. Right before my exit to get off, out of nowhere, I heard this HUGE BOOM on the Jeep!!! I screamed, Rayce woke up and made a little gasp and asked if my tire popped. I have no idea what happened, but something had hit us and left a crack/scratch on the windshield, so I pulled off the exit and jumped out to check for any more damage, which there was none. It sounded like we were hit with a huge 2×4 and it seemed like my body shut down for a minor 5 seconds where I didn’t see what was happening, and for a second I thought that we were in the middle of an accident. It is amazing how our body protects us when fear starts to overcome us, or we are put into scary situations. We are pretty sure it was a chunk of wood, or chunk of tire, right before this-there was another semi pulled over on the side of the road, who may have had a flat.

But that close call, made me think about our tomorrow’s, and made me think about…what I would do if tomorrow never came.

So if tomorrow never came,….

I think I would just make a quick drive out to Colorado, hike through purple wildflowers , then up to the top of a mountain with the special people in my life and just hold onto them, and thank God for the life he has given me. Oh, I would also bring along some gummy candies. A warm peppermint mocha. A can of Dr Pepper & My Bible & of course my camera.

But since the tomorrow of yesterday is already here, I will enjoy this day that I am given and I will not worry about tomorrow and live for today.

More Quotes For Today;

“Too many times we stand aside and let the waters slip away, till what we put off till tomorrow has now become today. So don’t you sit upon the shoreline and say you’re satisfied. Choose to chance the rapids and dare to dance the tide.”

“Live this day as if it will be your last. Remember that you will only find ”tomorrow” on the calendars of fools. Forget yesterday’s defeats and ignore the problems of tomorrow. This is it. Doomsday. All you have. Make it the best day of your year. The saddest words you can ever utter are, ”If I had my life to live over again. ”Take the baton, now. Run with it! This is your day! Beginning today, treat everyone you meet, friend or foe, loved one or stranger, as if they were going to be dead at midnight. Extend to each person, no matter how trivial the contact, all the care and kindness and understanding and love that you can muster, and do it with no thought of any reward. Your life will never be the same again.” ~ Og Mandino

“Many fine things can be done in a day if you don’t always make that day tomorrow”

With the new day comes new strength and new thoughts.
– Eleanor Roosevelt

Today is the first day of the rest of your life.
– Anonymous

“We must be willing to get rid of the life we’ve planned, so as to have the life that is waiting for us. ”

“Think of the long view of life, not just what’s going to happen today or tomorrow. Don’t give up what you most want in life for something you think you want now.” ~ Elder Richard G. Scott

“When you can think of yesterday without regret and tomorrow without fear, you are near contentment.”

Photo taken inside of a car wash-looking out at the sunset, with iphone 3 edited with Instigram App.

Leave a Reply

