Day 40; Blueberry memories

Day 40 of 365; Blueberry memories

“We do not remember days; we remember moments.” ~Cesare Pavese

A loud “GRRRRROWWWWLLL!” came from the other side of the trees behind the blueberry bushes, mom let out a big “A BEAR A BEAR A BEAR!” kind of a scream.

As a little girl, I found this really funny! No… really, my mother’s scream always me laugh-I just couldn’t get enough of it.

Apparently, neither could my father..

…because that bear,,……….well, ……it was my dad.

One of my favorite books growing up was “Blueberries For Sal” {View info on the book here }

It is a wonderful book from the 1940’s about a little girl Sal and her mother as they go out into the country to pick blueberries for winter, and a bear and his mother as they go to eat berries for winter from the other side of the same hill and some funny stuff happens as you read along!!!

I purchased a container of blueberries from the grocery store the other day and even though the taste of these blueberries compared to the fresh off the bush blueberry is very different-with each bite the memories of picking blueberries with my family came rushing back to me.

I am going to try hard this year to get my children into the outdoors and go on some blueberry hunts, so they too can have blueberry memories to look back on, laugh and smile about.

More Quotes For Today;

“Memory is a child walking along a seashore. You never can tell what small pebble it will pick up and store away among its treasured things.” ~Pierce Harris, Atlanta Journal

“God gave us memories that we might have roses in December.” ~J.M. Barrie, Courage, 1922

Photo taken with iphone 3 & edited with Instigram & Impression Apps.

Leave a Reply

