Day 35; Hot Wheels +A Childs’ Imagination

Day 35 of 365; Hot Wheels & A Childs’ imagination

“One of the virtues of being very young is that you don’t let the facts get in the way of your imagination.” ~Sam Levenson

“OUCH!” is something you might have heard if you live in or around Rock Falls, Wisconsin, as I stumbled over a long line of Hot Wheels cars at 6 a.m. on this dark Friday morning.

Ever since my son has been old enough to play with toys, he has been lining up his Hot Wheels Cars across the floor, all in a row. The first time he did this, I think he was about 3 years old.. when we had first moved into our home-and I came out into the room he was playing in and he had TONS of his Hot Wheels lined up from the dining room all the way into the living room.

“They’re having a car show mom” He would always tell me. As he got bigger I would watch his play and imagination change and grow, but still playing with his Hot Wheels cars all along. Now he is 7 years old (next month) and his Hot Wheels collection has grown beyond what I can count. Can a boy ever have TOO many cars?

I got home from getting groceries last night and all around my Oval Braided rug, is a circle of… yep, you guessed it, Hot Wheels cars, some are going through a barn, some are parked aside behind the barn, in a semi trailer, beside the semi trailer..but mostly they are in a circle -again looking like some sort of mini car show.

I love walking into a room where my children have been playing, even if they’ve finished playing there-and looking at their toys-to see how they have left them, how they have been playing and to see the imagination that they have used during their play, it seriously delights me and puts huge smiles on my face. Do you ever do this? Try to pay more attention to the detail in your childs’ play, it is amazing… truly amazing to see what they do.

If I were to sit down and try to play Hot Wheels, I would most likely just..drive them back and forth, or race them.. but the imagination of a child is so beautiful, ..they set up towns, car shows, have cars put aside because they’re broken and need to be fixed at ‘the shop’ , there is a whole story line set up every time they play with their toys.

I will most likely be playing with Hot Wheels today and taking more photos with my phone as the day goes on, so please be sure to check back and look for more Hot Wheels images!!! πŸ™‚

Imagination is a childs’ way of dreaming, this weekend as your kids are playing I challenge you to really watch how they play-look at they beauty in their imagination-and while your at it, get down on the floor and PLAY WITH THEM!!! πŸ™‚

Here are some more images I took this morning using my iphone, enjoy (please do not use, copy, or save images without prior permission! Thank you πŸ™‚ )

All images taken using my iphone 3GS and edited with Instigram and Photoshop Express.

If you have kids really into Hot Wheels, check out their website, there are a lot of fun games, videos, and even a car of the day! It’s a pretty cool website!

Quotes for today;

What a distressing contrast there is between the radiant intelligence of the child and the feeble mentality of the average adult. ~Sigmund Freud

A child’s world is fresh and new and beautiful, full of wonder and excitement. It is our misfortune that for most of us that clear-eyed vision, that true instinct for what is beautiful and awe-inspiring, is dimmed and even lost before we reach adulthood. ~Rachel Carson

There are children playing in the streets who could solve some of my top problems in physics, because they have modes of sensory perception that I lost long ago. ~J. Robert Oppenheimer

Children have neither past nor future; they enjoy the present, which very few of us do. ~Jean de la Bruyere

In every real man a child is hidden that wants to play. ~Friedrich Nietzsche

Every child is an artist. The problem is how to remain an artist once he grows up. ~Pablo Picasso

Leave a Reply

