Day 23; Love your work

Day 23 of 365; Love your work

Everyone has been made for some particular work, and the desire for that work has been put in every heart.
— Jalal ad-Din Rumi

Do you love your work?

In order to be really good and successful at something, we have to enjoy doing it. If you don’t, oftentimes you’ll find yourself not being very successful at it.

Work gives people a sense of purpose. It’s not uncommon for work to be a large part of a person’s life. People need to feel accomplished, successful and work allows us to strive for our best and to enjoy the fruits of our labor.

I feel very blessed to have a husband who supports (or should I say puts up?! ๐Ÿ˜‰ ) my entrepeneur-ish ways. I have had a longing in my heart to do many different things business-wise over the years, I sometimes think I have TOO many hobbies (is that possible?!)….

I became pregnant with my son Rayce is 2003, gave birth in 2004 and wanted nothing more than to stay at home with him and spend time with him and watch him grow. My husband and I made it work so I could stay home with him for the first 2 years of his life.. but after that money started getting tight, and I needed to bring in some sort of financial addition to the family.

So…I went out to the work field and over the next 3 years or so, I had worked several odds n ends jobs; race car/trailer detailer/washer, nanny, housekeeper, newspaper room worker, Car Detailer (at another place), …. and was just never completely content with any of those jobs, or being at a work place in general. Many people told me, that you’ll have that at every job, or that no one is ever happy in their work,… but I wasn’t going to believe it.

I soon knew that I needed to do something for my happiness or I was going to become depressed quickly……… I scraped up money to purchase a professional camera ..and soon thereafter I stared my photography business, with the help of dear friends pushing me to do what I love and to pursue my passions for work.

In 2008.. I had my daughter Camryn (who is now 2 years old), and now that I had photography as my career , I was flexible with my hours- I could schedule the photo shoots (except weddings) around my family/kids events, AND stay home with my daughter Camryn, and get my son off/on the bus during the weekdays.

Since my business was just in the beginning phase, I also knew that I would need to be bringing in some more money from another job.. but my heart felt sick with the thought of not being able to stay at home with my daughter Camryn, so.. I decided to try another route and take in one daycare child IN my home , and I am blessed to say I still have him here to this day (it will be 1 year this February) .. M-F 7-4:30, and he is such a joy to have in our home.

I can say I am finally content in my work.

I will no longer suffer from a bad days work, dreading going to work -and being one of those millions of people who just work..to work .

I feel that this is what God wants me to do, is use my photography (and hey maybe even writing ! ๐Ÿ™‚ ) to inspire people and to make a difference in the world. If I touch one person, I have completed my goal of inspiring others (it IS on my list of things to do before I die).

So… take a look at your life, your work… are you REALLY happy? What IS your passion(s)? I think it is such an amazing opportunity for you, or anyone to turn your passions into your work, .. your work will be perfection because it is coming from your heart- and I think that passion for what we do is planted in our hearts straight from God the day that we were born, waiting to bloom.

I’m telling you once more, make sure that you LOVE YOUR WORK. Do what you love & love what you do. Find ways to make it work. Find support, friends, family , anyone who can push you (gently) and inspire you.

God has a plan for you. Don’t give up.

Good luck friends. ๐Ÿ™‚

More quotes for today;

โ€œWhat we really want to do is what we are really meant to do. When we do what we are meant to do, money comes to us, doors open for us, we feel useful, and the work we do feels like play to us.” ~ Julia Cameron

โ€œEach of us has an inner dream that we can unfold if we will just have the courage to admit what it is. And the faith to trust our own admission. The admitting is often very difficult.โ€

Doing what you love is the cornerstone of having abundance in your life.
— Dr. Wayne Dyer

Leave a Reply

