Day 16; Travel

Day 16 of 365; Travel

“A good traveler has no fixed plans, and is not intent on arriving.” ~Lao Tzu

I have a heart bursting FULL of passion for traveling, driving, & exploring…. but NOT for making plans for my travels. Some days I wake up with the idea to go exploring, no plan in mind.., I will just pack up for the day and GO!

When my husband and I took our honeymoon in 2009 to Southern Texas, I made it a point to have no plans , (except the surprise I had for him of 2 nights at a ranch (Ten Bits Ranch) in the middle of the mountains ,..now THAT was worth the plan! ) But I think traveling is so much more fun, and you get so much more out of it when you don’t have those fixed plans all mapped out. This way if you find something neat along the way, or somewhere that looks fun to explore, or stay at, you aren’t rushed for time to get to the next place.

When you have your travel plans all mapped out, I think you miss the little things that are in between point A to point B.

So for that reason I am a spontaneous traveler, for that is where the memories of adventures are made. … . when you go the wrong way, turn down the wrong road or get lost… it is then that you may discover something beautiful, including yourself.

I don’t believe in wrong turns or getting lost, I think we end up where we are meant to be in our travels-both in life and on the road.

So next time you are going traveling, whether across country, or just a spontaneous day trip somewhere nearby, try to just go,,,no plans, no deadlines,… just make memories, explore & just….go.

Let’s hear it… what kind of traveler are you? Do you plan each little detail out? Or are you a spontaneous traveler like I am?

More quotes for today;

“Two roads diverged in a wood, and I — I took the one less traveled by, and that has made all the difference.” ~ Robert Frost

“The World is a book, and those who do not travel read only a page.” ~St. Augustine

“I travel not to go anywhere, but to go. I travel for travel’s sake. The great affair is to move.” ~Robert Louis Stevenson

“Half the fun of the travel is the esthetic of lostness.” ~Ray Bradbury

Photo taken with the Iphone 3gs & edited with the Instigram App.

Leave a Reply

