Day 13; Open Water

Day 13 of 365; Open Water

“Earth and sky, woods and fields, lakes and rivers, the mountain and the sea, are excellent schoolmasters, and teach some of us more than we can ever learn from books.”~John Lubbock

Beach Glass

Today as I was cleaning my house I came across a large jar of beach glass that I had gathered from the beach last Summer & it flooded my mind of memories from being beside the open water.

Last year I had many different opportunities to be beside different bodies of water, including Lake Michigan (the Michigan AND Wisconsin side), Lake Superior, Chippewa & Eau Claire Rivers, and my favorite spot beside a river/bay that I have declared my own, as ‘Kelly’s Point’. . . . All of which hold deep memories in my heart.

I am a woman who belongs near water,… my soul & inner spirit come alive once my eyes set upon any body of water.
As my eyes see the water, it is almost like my inner soul leaps out of me and starts jumping around outside of me in excitement.

I do embrace every season, I love to watch snow falling out my window while sitting by the fireplace and taking winter hikes, but as I return to my favorite spot by the water and it is snow and ice covered my soul no longer leaps as it used to before the winter came. For this reason I am longing for Spring, longing to return to bodies of water as the ice is being pushed away and the water shines through and my soul begins to leap again.

Water has such a magical way of making us think things we would have never thought, .., .. things that we like to think about.

Not so sure what it is I love about the open water the most, ..is it, the way the trees and clouds reflect off of it, the ripples that make their way towards me as a boat passes by , the way it feels to slip my bare feet down under the waves into the slightly chilly water and mushy sand, the sun setting and reflecting back at me in the water, or maybe it’s the little otter that comes to swim by and check out who I am. Whatever the reason… my soul connects with the water in a way I can not explain.

I can envision myself in years to come, maybe just maybe with a very small little cabin for a retreat somewhere on a small lake, the bonfire going near the shore, some chairs on the beach, the stars shining brightly..and just sitting .. and enjoying, filling my soul with happiness. Those thoughts of water make me smile, Spring oh Spring where are you?

What do you enjoy about the open water? Is it as peaceful and soul enhancing for you as it is for me?
Once Spring comes back to greet us, I think you should take some time to find water and just connect with yourself, your thoughts and ..just be.

Our society is so fast paced, … take time to JUST BE. Are you wondering just be..WHAT? ..That’s it. Simply put, Just be… you, do nothing , but sit. It is something you will not regret, never a waste of time, and fulfilling in so many ways.

So for the rest of winter I will embrace the days, the snow, the fun I have playing during snowstorms in my Jeep, but I can promise you this.. when that first flower blooms, the ice starts breaking apart & revealing the open water once again…, you may just hear a little yelp of happiness from my corner of Wisconsin. 🙂

Me-Kayaking on the Chippewa River

Quotes for today;


“A lake is the landscape’s most beautiful and expressive feature. It is earth’s eye; looking into which the beholder measures the depth of his own nature.” ~Henry David Thoreau

“For whatever we lose (like a you or a me), It’s always our self we find in the sea.”~E.E. Cummings

“The lakes are something which you are unprepared for; they lie up so high, exposed to the light, and the forest is diminished to a fine fringe on their edges, with here and there a blue mountain, like amethyst jewels set around some jewel of the first water, – so anterior, so superior, to all the changes that are to take place on their shores, even now civil and refined, and fair as they can ever be.” ~Henry David Thoreau


Photo was taken using the iphone 3GS.

Leave a Reply

