Day 12; Motivation!

Day 12 of 365; Motivation!!

“Life takes on meaning when you become motivated, set goals and charge after them in an unstoppable manner.” ~Les Brown

Mommy's Helper; Camryn

Where does your motivation come from? Music fresh air, friends.. coffee?! For everyone motivation is sparked by different things, and maybe you are like me, and some days you wake up with a huge to-do list and have absolutely not one ounce of motivation to get anything done. So what do you do on those days to get motivated?

I think it’s really important to set goals, even within your small projects. For example, today I woke up with MORE motivation than what I even knew what to do with, so I decided I would work on making my office area up in the master bedroom, and got that half of the room painted, including my work desk table re-painted… and as I was starting the project I told myself that I wanted to be done by 1:00 and I was done by Noon sharp, which allowed me time for lunch and to work on finally finishing painting behind the fridge in the kitchen , while I had all the paint supplies out, I even started touching up the bathroom a little bit to get that ready for remodeling.

If we set goals TOO unreasonable though and we don’t meet the deadline then we feel upset, like we have let ourselves down, so when you decide to set a goal, look at the amount of work you have to do and be reasonable with your goal.

I know a lot of people put aside projects so that they have time to spend with their children instead of focusing on the remodeling, painting, etc. But what IF I used my insane motivation to include my children in my projects and use what I am doing as a teaching tool for them?

Take your work-around-the-house projects as opportunities to teach your children. Moments like these will be ones that they will never forget, and treasure forever. I remember SO many times when my father asked me to help him on a project and I felt so proud to be helping him, even it was just holding the end of a board while he cut it on the table saw, ..something so simple can mean the world to a child.

Helping Mommy Paint

To get motivated for any project I suggest starting with a large cup of coffee in the morning and maybe some honey nut cheerios (ok..or whatever cereal you like 😉 ) And most importantly some relaxing in front of the tv, or playing with your kids on the floor…. then turn OFF that t.v. and set your finish/completion goal in your mind, grab your tools/supplies and ESPECIALLY a radio and get to work. Hydrate and snack along the way to give yourself fuel to keep on working, and depending on the length of your projects make sure to take breaks!

Remember for more motivation…imagine HOW amazing your space/project is going to look when you are completely finished and how proud you can and will be to say that you did it and finished it! Any painting project can completely transform a space and make it completely new.

Today I worked on my room/office & work desk as I mentioned above and now that I am finished with that Half of the room, and FINALLY have a work space of my own (until I get a studio).. I now have a place to sit and write, read, edit photos and motivate OTHERS by blogging. So my motivation to paint, is now motivating me to write more , work on photos more, etc.

Here are some photos of my project(s) today

Table Before Painting

New Work Area

Work Space After

New work area

Birch Branches/Dried Flowers

So there’s my workspace for now, although as we speak I am curled up on the bed on the other side of the room, but I have never wanted to work in this room until now. I feel so HAPPY to have a space to work, and be inspired & can not wait to finish the rest of the room-especially the floors.

My daughter Camryn continued to want to help me paint my table white, but after a while she did start getting it ALL over, but to make sure I still included her on my project I gave her a new unused paint brush, and for over an hour after that she went around to every room in the entire house and ‘painted them’ and made them ‘all better’ (in her own words) 🙂

So as you find motivation to start AND finish projects around your house, try to think of ways that you can include your children, … even if it’s setting up their toy work bench/tools next to you as you work (for younger children, the older children CAN actually help) 🙂

Now… Go get motivated and start some projects with your children! 🙂

More quotes for today;

“Each day of our lives we make deposits in the memory banks of our children.” ~Charles R. Swindoll

“Man is only truly great when he acts from his passions.”~ Benjamin Disraeli

“Men often become what they believe themselves to be. If I believe I cannot do something, it makes me incapable of doing it. But when I believe I can, then I acquire the ability to do it even if I didn’t have it in the beginning.”~Mahatma Gandhi

“A successful person is one who can lay a firm foundation with the bricks that others throw at him or her.” ~ David Brinkley

4 comments on “Day 12; Motivation!

  1. DeAnne says:

    Nicely put, Kelly!

  2. Amy says:

    Love it Kelly!! keep it up!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

