Day 8; The Crossing

Day 8 of 365; The Crossing

“When you change your habitual thoughts, it’s like changing the direction of the train.”

Well here I am on Day 8 of my 1 year journey , 1 week down only 51 more to go. Are you reading? Are you enjoying my posts & pictures? I sure hope so, I keep feeling like giving up, after all I don’t NEED to be doing this, it adds more on my plate of things to get done in a day, but I need to let my thoughts out of this thought filled brain somehow, and honestly for the past week I have felt happier, my mind has been more clear and I might even have an extra bounce in my step, all because of this blog. Who knows where this one year journey will take me, but I am truly thankful for those of you who are joining me on this journey and take the time to read my writings and especially reply to my posts – you inspire me to keep writing.

So I was taking a winter walk in Duluth, Minnesota this evening as the sun was setting alongside the rail road tracks and noticed how neat the RR Crossing sign looked and then I sat and just looked at it for a few seconds and it made me start thinking about life.. we have so many times in our lives where we come to a crossroads in our life.. should we go this way or that? And I really do think that whichever way we chose when we are at the crossing , that the outcome will be okay, and that we will still end up where God has planned for us to be. I always like to compare life to those “Choose your own Adventure Books” that I used to read way back in the day (does anyone remember these?), you could read one little chapter then at the end it would give you two options about which chapter you could go to next and so on, and that eventually determined the path + the ending of your book. That is Life right there. HOWEVER like the quote way above says, if we change our thinking and start habitual thinking-more positive thoughts, & when we come to a crossroads, instead of feeling like we’ve gone down the wrong path, wishing we could turn back time, change things, or go another way -we can stop and think that it will be alright this way, we are on this road now and eventually we will come to another crossroads with more decisions to make , but ultimately this road is where we are meant to be.

No matter what way we chose when we come to a crossroads in our life , it is ever so comforting to know that God is always with us, and at every and any crossing.. we will be OKAY no matter which way we chose.

Some quotes & verses for you to read & think about & soak in;

“All of life is a journey which paths we take, what we look back on, and what we look forward to is up to us. We determine our destination, what kind of road we will take to get there, and how happy we are when we get there.”

“The difference between can and cannot are only three letters. Three letters that determine your life’s direction.”

“Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go.”-Joshua 1:9 NIV


“You have brains in your head. You have feet in your shoes. You can steer yourself in any direction you choose. You’re on your own. And you know what you know. You are the guy who’ll decide where to go.”- Dr Seuss ‘Oh the places you’ll go’ book.

“Sometimes life may lead you where you least expect it, but you can have faith it’s where you’re meant to be.” -Snow Buddies’ Movie

Follow my 365 Days Challenge on Facebook here

Photo taken in Duluth, Minnesota with iphone 3GS , edited with the Instagram App.

5 comments on “Day 8; The Crossing

  1. DeAnne says:

    I’ve enjoyed seeing your photos and your thoughts, Kelly. Gives me things to think about too. Thanks for sharing and taking the time to do this. Enjoy and continue on your path!

  2. Thank you DeAnne!!! 🙂

  3. Very nice meditation, Kelly! Its funny, I quoted the same Seuss book today, lol… well the title at least. I think its important to have something that we do every day that, even if its not always fun, on the whole it tends to be fulfilling for ourselves, or we wouldn’t have done it to begin with. I look forward to your postings and photography, but don’t feel compelled just because of us. Maybe you could utilize the post in advance feature just to get a break when you need it? Take Care… das.

  4. Love the picture, the blues are great. Nice vantage point too. -Kim

Leave a Reply

