Day 7; Rest

Day 7 of 365; Rest

“Every now and then go away, have a little relaxation, for when you come back to your work your judgment will be surer. Go some distance away because then the work appears smaller and more of it can be taken in at a glance and a lack of harmony and proportion is more readily seen.”~ Leonardo Da Vinci

Ah Rest. Peacefulness, Serenity. Calm. Time to Dream, think, remember, smile. What words come to mind you you picture yourself resting?

Day 7’s photo was taken while I was on the road up north to work on a painting project in Minnesota. The roads were icy, and the winds were at least 45 mph making the bridges and tunnels very slick. After the Jeep was getting blown around for a while I needed to just stop and breathe, so I pulled over at a rest area and .. I did just that, I rested. After all, what was my hurry? Not a thing. This trip was purely about REST.

After sipping on my peppermint mocha at the rest area, I put the Jeep back into Drive and headed north again.. the roads were getting worse and Highway 53 just wasn’t making friends with my Jeep. So I checked out my handy iphone google map and decided to take some back roads- yep this Jeep sure has a heart for back roads vs. the highways. I decided to take a back way through Shell Lake and ended up in Spooner where I decided to rest again for about an hour just bumming around the town and found some neat little shops + restaurants (now on my ‘to go back and visit’ list!..) Taking the back roads was another way for me to rest from the busy highway, semi trucks, and to just slow down and take time to enjoy the scenery all around me.

Rest and reflection are such an important part of life which is one of the reasons why I decided to take this weekend in Minnesota by myself. Reflecting on memories from the past year… all I can do is fill myself with smiles and tears about how much I was blessed in the year of 2010, by meeting new people who have forever changed my heart & my entire being.

So here I sit.. up north in the middle of a winter storm warning, tired as can be, completely worn out , tons of things on my to do list back home- RESTING. Tomorrow brings a day full of painting, which yes, is tiring , but it really gives my mind it’s own form of rest, almost..a type of meditation.

Wherever you find yourself this weekend, next week, this month, this year, make time and take time to REST between your projects & your busy life. For it is during rest that our minds and our souls are replenished and refueled with energy, new thoughts, ideas, dreams & motivations we may have never found otherwise.

“Rest is not idleness, and to lie sometimes on the grass under the trees on a summer’s day, listening to the murmur of water, or watching the clouds float across the sky, is by no means a waste of time” ~John Lubbock

2 comments on “Day 7; Rest

  1. I love it. Simple, minimalistic, and vintage-esque are three of my favorite photography styles and yours here is quite attractive. I love your message as well, for it is sometimes a difficult concept to grasp: Rest. Nice work.

    • Thank you so much for replying, I sometimes feel like I am writing to myself and wonder if anyone is reading , so I very much appreciate your comment(s) 🙂

      Thanks for the compliments on this photo as well, my eyes have really been opened to a different kind of photography with this 365 Days Challenge that I am doing, and realizing a photo doesn’t have to be full of anything to make it work, simple can sometimes be much better.

      For the challenge all photos are taken using only my iphone to take/edit the photos so quality is of course not up as high as it could be, I could easily use my DSLR Camera, but I wanted to try something different & use just the iphone (I got the wonderful idea from another great photographer via Facebook)

      🙂

Leave a Reply

