Day 5; Slow Down

Day 5 of 365; Slow Down

“Always remember to slow down in life; live, breathe, and learn; take a look around you whenever you have time and never forget everything and every person that has the least place within your heart.”

Todays post is inspired by my 6 year old son’s massive hot wheels ‘collection’ that seems to never stop growing (one day I plan on taking a photo of all of his cars in color-order and getting it in canvas, might look pretty neat in the garage  ~ this is per my husband’s request 🙂 )

Why do we insist on rushing around, from place to place, from event to event, work to school, and so on and so forth without allowing time for ourselves?  It is so easy to get caught up in the busy life and as we do so, we leave ourselves behind, our souls if you will–and from there on out, we are just ..living, to live with no joy, no dreaming no time for us in between.

I met a great friend last year who helped me see that it was OKAY for me to take time for myself, to enjoy the things I have always loved doing and to refresh my soul.   I used to feel so guilty being a stay/work at home mom when I would leave to go do something for myself..usually not even spending money, just a simple adventure , like a hike at a park, or a drive in the country to take photos etc)..but still I had a guilty feeling like I should always be at home with my husband, the kids and taking care of the duties there.

My eyes have been clearly opened to see that it really is okay, and it is actually not an option, it is a necessity that I take time for myself-so my battery-my soul can recharge so that I am able to be the best mother & wife that I can be.

How can I give my family my all if I have no energy left?  If my soul isn’t entirely happy because I’ve lost myself along the way of motherhood/wifehood (ok so wifehood isn’t a word, but today.. I’m making it one) ?!

I will from here on out take time for myself to go do the things that refresh my soul, that fill me up and give me the energy I need to live my life the best way that I can, and to give others the best of me that there is to give.  Even if it’s taking a few minutes in my room with the door closed and the fan on loud so I can write a quick blog post –it refreshes me deeply.

I am thankful today for the people who have crossed my path who have encouraged, inspired and even slightly pushed me in any form to do what I love, to be what I want to be, and to take time to SLOW DOWN , breathe and live.

Follow my 365 Days; iphone Challenge on Facebook here

 

p.s. did anyone notice something different about one of the cars in the photo?  Comment on what it is!  🙂    It is also a WONDERFUL thing to be different in life, yes there may be 1,00,000,000 other photographers in the world, but I am on a path to set myself apart from each and every one of them..so whatever it is you do, or dream of doing- always be yourself, be different & an individual. ❤

2 comments on “Day 5; Slow Down

  1. Very nice proclamation… and meditation. It is very easy to ignore ourselves, but then when we become disgruntled its sometimes hard to figure out why. You have written about an important facet of life that we should all face a bit more often. ~das~

Leave a Reply

