“You don’t choose your family. They are God’s gift to you, as you are to them. “

“You don’t choose your family.  They are God’s gift to you, as you are to them.”  ~Desmond Tutu


To have a photo session take place in my own town is like heaven!  Not only do I get to explore the area I live in, but take photos  as well.    I have lived in Rock Falls for 3 years now and each year I meet more wonderful people-like the Kummer family.

We ventured to a few different locations, including a cute bridge that lays crooked across a creek ; where Trenten said: “But it’s crooked I’m going to fall in!” so big brother Tayler came up with the idea to go to the edge where the bridge meets the grass so Trenten wouldn’t be so scared-it melted my heart just a touch that he was looking out for his little brother!

Next we went to a barn where Tayler’s inner model shined…

…and the boys mooed and neighed at me through an old wooden fence, “Neighhhhhh ,,,  Mooooo,,,  Neighhhhhhh,,, Moooooo” …..

and lastly to the local playground and park where the boys played as I captured some fun images of them being..boys!


Overall quote of the shoot continually came from Trenten, before I took any photo he would say “CHEEEEEESE” , so the first time he said it, I replied..  “WHERE?!” ..then he replied back with “Hey that’s from a Movie!!! Cheese! Where?!” I then asked him which movie and he said he didn’t know.  So for the rest of the session the sounds of “CHEESE” + “WHERE” filled the air in Rock Falls.

Kummer Family, thank you for hiking through tall itchy grass with me, for tromping through a barn with me…

……….and for allowing me into your family for a slight while, I really enjoyed capturing memories with your family!

If anyone is interested in having a family session in the Rock Falls area (or on location) you can contact me at kelmariestudios@live.com or visit my website for session information.


Leave a Reply

